On Working on a Distributed Project

As this has been the first real week of work on the ReviewBoard process (the previous weeks being primarily about setup). I am starting to learn a lot about what it is like to work in this kind of distributed environment.

The biggest thing I’ve noticed so far is that I find it hard to work in this kind of environment (or, at the least, I’ve not yet adjusted to working in this kind of environment).

For the classes I have taken, I have always had set class-hours to learn things, and hard deadlines that were set by someone other than me. For the programming jobs I’ve had, even if deadlines were being set by me, there always were set blocks of time that I knew were going to be used to get work done.

Without these set times that I know that I am working on the project, it can be hard to sit down and dedicate enough time for the project–especially since this time comes after a full day of classes and/or work.

My solution to this is that I am going to have set times every day that are dedicated to ReviewBoard. I’m going to set a timer, and I’m not going to be allowed to get distracted until the timer goes off. I’m thinking right now that 25 minutes work, 5 minutes break would be a good standard for getting things done, but I will have to experiment.

At the same time, I’m making a few recommendations to Lindsey on how we could impose a bit more structure on our part of the project. He may not be the kind of person that needs this to get work done, but I know that I do.

Brendan

Leave a Reply

