Installing Extensions

So for the last few hours of Sprint Day 2, I started trying to get extensions installed and working on my computer. The process was pretty complicated, and I am still not finished, but this is what I have done so far.

To start I had to read some material about python eggs, as a review board extension is a python egg.

Switch to the extensions branch of Djblets and Review Board

1)      Go to djblets directory and do “git checkout extensions”

2)      “git branch extensions origin/extensions”

3)      Go to review board folder and “git checkout origin/extensions”

Install the new djblets and sync Database

4)      “sudo ./setup.py develop”

5)      Make directory /reviewboard/reviewboard/htdocs/media/ext

6)      “./reviewboard/manage.py syncdb”

Execute Evolutions

7)      “./reviewboard/manage.py evolve –execute”

Add Extensions

8)      go to rb-extension-pack, and cd into rbreports

9)      “python setup.py develop”

After this, everything should have worked, but I ran into some issues when trying to load up my localhost Review Board page. The solution was to do the following:

10)  “git pull origin extensions”

11)  “cd /usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages”

12)  “sudo rm -rf Djblets-0.6.7-py2.6.egg”

13)  go to  Djblets folder

14)  “sudo python setup.py develop”

15)  “./contrib/internal/prepare-dev.py” (in Review Board)

This enabled extensions, but I have many errors in my terminal. Still have to go through those!

Leave a comment