Progress

One of the best parts about programming is when I make progress at what I’m trying to do. I would be lying if I didn’t say at some point I had a panic attack over if I was ever going to complete my quick search feature. Learning this ReviewBoard has been challenging, since I know nothing about Python and the whole Django framework before I started. Luckily, I have some awesome mentors and they are really willing to help me out even when I am asking a lot of questions. Even though this term so far has been extremely challenging trying to balance myself between school, ReviewBoard (I don’t count it as school work!) and Ultimate, I find joining UCOSP and working on this project have been extremely rewarding. This is nothing like what you learn in school. I haven’t done much in web development at all so learning Django has been very interesting. This is something completely different from what I would be learning at school with languages like C++, Java etc…

It’s been 2 weeks since the code sprint and I am really hoping to pick up the pace of my project especially I don’t have any midterms right now and reading week is upcoming! Lately, I’ve been working with the Web API resource to filter objects from models. After a bunch of trial and error, I’m able to display the list of users, review groups and review requests through my new resource. The search is mostly working for now. This is my first time writing code in Python so progress has been slow. At the same time, I’m happy to finally be accomplish part 1 of many for my project. In the mean time, I’ll keep pushing hard to make more progress. Hopefully my next blog post will be more interesting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

