Status Reports – September 22, 2012

Sampson Chen

Currently
  • Skimming through the documentation on the website; reading through them all would take some time so right now I’m just getting reference points for when I run into problems.
  • Learning about Git: getting familiar with forks, remote-server, and how code submission process works at RB
Roadblocks
  • Not really blocks, just spending the time to get through the period of new project orientation
Next
  • Spending the rest of the night working on a bug tagged with EasyFix. Comparing between a few now, picking one that makes the most sense code-wise and I’ll mark it down.
Questions
  • Recommendation on an easy to use IRC client? I’m using Pidgin but that doesn’t seem to work with the bouncer… unless I set the bouncer up wrong.

Michelle Chuang

Currently
  • Learning about Django. Trying to get a better grasp of the codebase so that I can start tackling some of the EasyFix bugs.
Roadblocks
  • None.
Next
  • Picking an EasyFix bug to tackle.
Questions
  • How are we supposed to mark off that we want to attempt an EasyFix bug? (I know this was answered already but I can’t seem to dig up the response.) If we run into troubles trying to fix a bug, should we release it back and find a different one or ask one of the mentors on IRC for help?

Wesley Ellis

Currently
Roadblocks
  • I had to work of RB 1.6.11 FIX but I may have screwed up my dev environment because I get an error when signing in “DoesNotExist at /dashboard/”See this paste.
Next
  • Read up on how to use virtualenv and re-do my setup using that
Questions
  • Can someone help me out with my above error?

Karl Leuschen

Currently
  • Poked around my local copy of Review Board by adding a repository and submitting some review requests. Found a small bug to work on while fiddling, so I created an issue (on the issue tracker), explored some of the source (mostly project layout and templates), made a fix and submitted a review request. Got some feedback, revised and resubmitted. Submitting and revising the review request went smoothly.
Roadblocks
  • None.
Next
  • Pick off an EasyFix from the list.
Questions
  • What is the review process going to look like for our feature branches? All of the review requests I’ve seen up on reviews.reviewboard.org (I definitely haven’t seem them all) are for small groups of commits that look to be getting applied to either master or a release branch when they’re marked “Ship-It!”. When we start working on our projects, will we be following the same pattern? That is, we work on our branch, submit a small patch, get it merged and repeat until the feature is complete? Or is there a separate process (any examples up on reviews.reviewboard.org)?

Aamir Mansoor

Currently
  • Playing around with my local installation of Reviewboard to get familiar with the workflows and features
Roadblocks
  • None
Next
  • Going to start reading more about Python and Django. Also going to go through EasyFix bugs to see if I can tackle anything.
Questions
  • None

Allyshia Sewdat

Currently
  • Getting familiar with Git — pretty good so far
  • reading up on Django
  • playing around with my local instance of Review Board, getting a grasp of the workflow
  • set up my IDE, browsing the codebase
Roadblocks
  • None.
Next
  • Seriously take a look at one or two EasyFix bugs and work my way around the code with that objective in mind
  • set up an IRC bouncer
Questions
  • None for now!

John Sintal

Currently
Roadblocks
  • Baffled by the amount of code. Not sure what to look at. Trying to understand the overall structure of the codebase.
Next
  • Look at the codebase or look at a bug.
  • See if I can get the site running on my local machine so I can see changes I’ve made on my copy of the project. (*)
Questions
  • Is (*) even possible?

Tina Yang

Currently
  • Learning about django and python by starting a new django project. Looking through EasyFix bugs and try to break into the code base through these issues.
Roadblocks
  • None.
Next
  • Pick a bug to work on.
Questions

Jesus Zambrano

Currently
  • Worked on some django tutorials and took my first peek at the code.
Roadblocks
  • Nothing major so far.
Next
  • Go to a Git workshop held at uOttawa. Work on some of the easy_fix bugs.
Questions
  • None.
Leave a Reply

