Status Report — January 27th, 2013

Greg Wang

Currently

  • I went through all kinds of long text fields which may appear in the review page. Sorted out a list of DOM components that needs to be modified.
  • In the main while, found out the related view controllers.

Roadblocks

  • There are fairly many kinds of these fields.
  • Matching each of the fields up with the database model is a little bit tricky, since the page is composited with many parts and variable naming changes from database to the template.
  • Most view rendering functions are nested (maybe it is not the correct word).

Next

  • Use pdb to do some stack trace, to find the right place to add the markdown processing for each field
  • Consider about the architecture aspect of adding the Markdown. Maybe its better to setup a separated class to takeover all the Markdown processing jobs.

Questions

  • Have asked Chris about the double “add comments” in a attachment/diff review.
  • No more for now.

Jon Demelo

Currently

  • I took a more in depth look into the overall Django environment.
  • I’ve researched into how the ReviewBoard system completes its inner-workings.
  • Started mapping out some ideas on how to implement my task.
  • I’ve set up the initial HTML/CSS mapping for the front-end
  • I mapped out and implemented the potential models for the relationships.

Roadblocks

  • Getting the time to sit down and get things done.
  • Just my overall knowledge of Django
  • How ReviewBoard is structured, although I’m almost getting it fully.

Next

  • I’m going to get some good time in to my goals.
  • Addressing the internal connections to get Dependancies operational.
  • Address any outlying bugs that evolve from my developments.

Questions

  • At the moment I’m good, but I know IRC is the place to be, so I’ll ask them there.

Katherine Schramm

Currently

  • Read more Django documentation
  • Worked more on email repo bug (review request #3768) (forgot to commit it though, whoops)
  • Set up wordpress account. Username: katkat42
  • Not much else done this week since I had to do some catch-up on my other classes

Roadblocks

  • Nothing yet

Next

  • Read more documentation probably
  • Look at code in place for review request lists
  • Start trying to put something together for reviews list

Questions

  • None

Surya Nallu

Currently

  • Made a prototype version of the extension auto-install module. This will eventually turn into an extension browser with support for installation within the app.
  • Hit a roadblock with python’s entry points not being updated. After narrowing down the issue with Christian and Steven, fixed it.
  • Ported the prototype code to a proper django app within djblets and the additions are now up for a review request.

Roadblocks

  • None

Next

  • Fix the known issues as listed on the review request.
  • Implement the appropriate modules (classes) that will eventually form the backend for the extension browser.
  • Start work on the extension browser with a hardcoded mockup of extensions (for now).

Questions

  • None

Miguel Flores

  • Technically, course does not start for another week, so have been focusing on other things

Gabriel L

Currently

  • I’ve been working a lot on my personal project that counts a lot for
    my final year, so not much work done on reviewboard.

Roadblocks

  • Mainly that I didn’t have enough time this week.

Next

  • Hopefully work on the drag and drop of elements in the admin.

Questions

  • Nope 🙂

Niklas Hambüchen

Currently

  • Nothing due to full-time conference.

Roadblocks

  • Nothing blocking.

Next

  • Having a look at issue closing policies.

Questions

  • Not yet; only the small note that we cannot get credits for this course
    at Imperial, which means that I have to attend full four regular uni
    courses, so that I will probably not get as much done as the others – I
    hope that is ok.

 

Leave a Reply

