Status Reports: May 18, 2014

Tami Forrester

1. What you accomplished this week

  • I’ve been working on finishing up the issues from the latest reviews for /r/5484 – only a few issues left and I’ll be done! That should be completed today.
  • I was also working on adding notation to the diff viewer and figuring out how that worked (for this issue), though that’s been on pause for a bit. My main approach for this is to get the latest reviewed diffset on the Review_request, and send that as a variable into the javascript object DiffViewerPageView that will then handle displaying it. A WIP will be up for it soon!

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Finals! I’ll be back after those finish up.

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • For the diff viewer, my main plan of action is getting the last reviewed diffset number from a user’s review on a request. As of now, this entails searching through each diff_comment from a user on a review request, and then returning the latest diff number that was reviewed. This isn’t really a blocker, but I’m wondering if there was a better way to do this, like having a latest_revision field on each review. I noticed that reviewed_diffset (Diffset), has been deprecated on the Review.

4. Any other questions

  • None

Peter Tran

1. What you accomplished this week

  • This week I worked on a bug fix. I added delete functionality to sessions and fully tested it. The code review was submitted and corrections were suggested. I’m currently adapting these corrections and sending it in for a (hopefully) final review.

2. What you plan to do next week

  • This week I plan to start my project. I think my first step is to architect and test a notification system.

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

  • What’s stopping me from making progress would be my lack of knowledge of the codebase. I’ve poked around the codebase docs however there isn’t really any architecture information. I’m assuming I can get a handle on where to hook into around the accounts directory.

4. Any other questions?

  • Question: Can I create my own models and test cases or should I be extending an existing model/objects?

Volodymyr Lyubinets

1. What you accomplished this week

  • Fixed 2 bugs, one was a quick fix, the other not so much (r/5810/ and r/5797/)
  • Wrote a proposal of my project (https://reviewboard.hackpad.com/Reviewing-attachments-tbfh4oiwTHB). Any feedback is welcomed.
  • Explored the code that might be relevant for my project. Now I know where the relevant templates are located, what database table is used, and have an idea of how to proceed.

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Start writing some code and publish my first review related to this project.

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

4. Any other questions (could be project related, course related, or industry related. Anything goes, I guess).

  • None

Raheman Vaiya

1. What you accomplished this week

  • This week I fixed bug 2766 and resolved to work work on dnd image
    support for the review editor view. To this end I started looking at
    the relationships between different parts of the code base including
    url resolution, views/templates, and backbone/django models.

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Start thinking about backend and front end changes that need to be
    made to accommodate drag and drop support for images on the review
    editor.

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • Most of the technologies used in reviewboard are new to me so I am
    trying to develop a better understanding of their roles in the code
    base. Specifically I am not clear on how backbone and django models
    are related.

4.

  • None at the moment.

Salam Alyahya

1. What you accomplished this week

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Have a clear idea about how the code that is related to my project works. Make a plan or design on how to approach the project, and write some code.

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • I need to get in the routine of working on ReviewBoard regularly.

4.

  • None

Matthew Maclean

1. What you accomplished this week

  • I fixed bug 3074 and have two requests out to fix bugs 3328 and 3329.

2. What you plan to do next week

  • make the requested changes to my code
  • allow the reviewbot to pull the entire repository

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • nothing

4. Any other questions (could be project related, course related, or industry related. Anything goes, I guess).

  • For in code comments, are we to reference the bug number so as to provide additional context or just explain it all in the code?

 

 

Leave a Reply

