Status Reports: June 1, 2014

Peter Tran

1. What you accomplished this week

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Adapt changes from the mentors to the architecture if there are any.
  • Create test cases for the basic functionality of the system at the object level.  (Creation, replying, completing).

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

  • I just need approval of the architecture to proceed.

4. Any other questions?

  • Is my proposed architecture flexible enough to be extended for feature  purposes?
  • When a user does stuff on RB, do all the requests get handled through the  webapi? If so, is my next step (after testing the basic architecture) be to  create post handlers for creating/responding and completing requests?

Volodymyr Lyubinets

1. What you accomplished this week

  • Started writing a backbone view for attachment uploads. I have the basic version, but it’s very poorly written. I need to ask some basic questions about this. This view can pass sequence id to the server, which is what I needed for
    my project.
  • Implemented handling of sequence data, and verified that it works correctly.
  • Reviews: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/5911/ and https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/5824/

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Iterate on existing reviews
  • Modify the logic behind displaying thumbnails to show only fresh version of each file
  • Start playing with the new review interface for attachment – we would like users to be able to view/compare revisions of their files. I already store sequence_id and position_in_sequence data, which is what I need.

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • I haven’t heard back regarding my model change. I still assume it’s the right way to go, because of it’s simplicity (Just 2 new fields added to the FileAttachment table. This seems to be a better approach than creating new tables or sticking something into M2M tables).

4. Any other questions?

  • To be asked during the meeting.

Raheman Vaiya

1. What you accomplished this week

  • Wrote a basic mockup of the frontend component of my project (hackpad to be updated with details shortly.)

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Polish mock-up and structure code appropriately.
  • Possibly start implementing components which will ultimately interact with the webapi code on the backend (start thinking about API requirements for user file storage).

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • Nothing

4. Any other questions?

  • No

Salam Alyahya

1. What you accomplished this week

  • Switched projects to Checklist extension.
  • Fixed issue where the extension was not accepted by python.
  • Fixed the issue where the extension didn’t show up because it was not registered to the pages right in ‘apply_to’ (https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/5890/).
  • I worked on the styles and colours of the extension. I changed the colours, and changed the format to be encapsulated in a table for better styling. Icon files were not included, so I added mine, and made the necessary changes. Also, I encapsulated the extension template with ‘<div>’ so that it gives it enough padding to let the minimize button show. The buttons to delete items in the list were taking the shape of a ladder rather then being vertically aligned, the issue was fixed by adjusting margin (https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/5904/).

2. What you plan to do next week

  • TBD

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • I need to discuss what specifically needs to be done for the checklist extension.

4. Any other questions?

  • I was thinking of implementing the ability to drag the list around the page by
    holding click on the top header bar.

Matthew Maclean

1. What you accomplished this week

  • Rewrote my hackpad to relfect the architecture design decisions and
    questions I have.
  • Played around with git in python a bit more while I wait to talk about the
    hackpad.

2. What you plan to do next week

  • Chat with Steven about my architecture stuff, then get the bot side of the feature working.
  • I also plan to try to work on stuff earlier in the week this time around.

3. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress

  • Chat about the architecture.

4. Any other questions?

  • No

 

Leave a Reply

