Status Reports: Sept. 28, 2014

Questions:

What project are you working on?
What you accomplished this week
Links to anything you’ve done this week
What you plan to do next week.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Any other questions

Ryan Done:

What project are you working on?
Currently working on updating the User List Page paginator to allow querying by name starting letter.
What you accomplished this week
Submitted fix for a bug in the unit tests where certain unit tests for CVS were being called and failing if the machine did not have CVS installed
Fixed and submitted my easyfix bug: GET queries for all review requests to the web api as admin were not returning private (unpublished, ‘public’ in the review request model) review requests.
Picked out my first project: Adding some features to the users page and djblets datagrid.
I got a first implementation of the alphabetic paginator for the users list and submitted my first WIP reviews for them (Djblets and Reviewboard) when I got home.
Did 3~4 code reviews.
And of course I’m collecting the status reports this week.
Links to anything you’ve done this week
Bugs:
Project:
What you plan to do next week.
– Make a hackpad and update with some details of what I’ve done and will do for my current project
– Finish the alphabetic paginator, at least for the users list. Theres probably about a days more work testing it and making making some adjustments, then of course addressing any review suggestions etc.
– Determine if any other datagrids in reviewboard could use it and implement it there. (Open ended, but ideally I will do the users-page in such a way that its a matter of just enabling the alphabet paginator on other grids).
– Start on the live search box for the datagrid (part of the project)
(Open ended, will carry onto next week)
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
When I got home I had some issues migrating my code repo back to my desktop (Windows Machine). Git was saying that every file everywhere was modified and I couldn’t perform any useful operations. Long story short the problem is to do with line ending settings. (https://help.github.com/articles/dealing-with-line-endings). I lost about a day working that out but I’m all good now.
Any other questions
All good for now.

Andrew Hong

What project are you working on?
I am currently looking into allowing users to download a zip of all file attachments that are apart of a Review Request.
What you accomplished this week
– Issue 3444: autocomplete is too agressive — tackled during the sprint, thanks for all feedback and comments, it is now shipped!
– Read through all the student projects to see which I’m potentially interested in, went with ‘downloading all file attachments from Review Request as zip’
– Performed a few code reviews, maybe 3-4?
– Currently looking into different ways of approaching the current project, I believe I have found all the files that will need modification to enable this feature.
Links to anything you’ve done this week
Issue 3444: Autocomplete is too agressive:
Project: Download All Button for File Attachments
What you plan to do next week.
Hopefully get the main chunk of this feature working.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Nothing, all is good!
Any other questions

Not at the moment.

David Kus

What project are you working on?
Currently working on “Drag ‘n Drop Inline Images”. Adding the ability to drag and drop images into the markdown editor (when commenting, adding review description, etc.) instead of having to upload the images first and then link to them.
What you accomplished this week?
Issue 3437: Double-clicking to add a comment in the diff view discards any comments made.
  – Worked on this during the code sprint. Made it so that when clicking to add a comment, if there is already a comment dialog open for the same region that you selected, it doesn’t open a new one. Status: Shipped.
Project “Drag ‘n Drop Inline Images”:
  – Took a look at the prototype created by a previous student for the project. Got that working on my dev instance. Did some work on overriding the whole “drag ‘n drop” overlay for file attachments on review requests, so that when you want to drag and drop an image into a text editor it doesn’t get blocked by the overlay.
Links to anything you’ve done this week.
Issue 3437:
Project:
Review Request for Work in Progress: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6351/
HackPad (kind of empty, but i’ll be adding notes here): https://reviewboard.hackpad.com/dkus-Development-Log-LpIrKtA6wfI
What you plan to do next week.
Keep working on the project. Start looking at the back-end more. The prototype that was created for the back-end seems to work pretty well, going to test it some more and try to clean it up. Also going to work harder at keeping notes in hackpad. Going to add some notes on the stuff that I did last week as well.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Nothing at the moment

Nicole Xin

What project are you working on?
I’m currently working on “General comments(with issues)”. Reviewboard now support comments on diffs,file attachments and screenshots, but there is no generic comment type that can open an issue tracking. So we would like to add that.
What you accomplished this week?
1. Fixed my Easyfix bugs(Issue 3532: linking to a collapsed review does not expand the review) apparently. It was fixed by parsing the url and force the linked box to open, and it was shipped during the code sprint.
2. Did a few code reviews.
3. Picked the project “General comments with issues” and started thinking about what tasks to do and where are the file located and took a few notes.
Links to anything you’ve done this week:
(Lots of issue opened by Review Bot. I have to leave shortly so I’ll fix them later.)
What you plan to do next week.
– Update my hackpad with any new ideas and hopefully fill in more details.
– Get more familiar with the dependencies and models.
– Keep working on my project, hopefully the back-end model can be completely set up next week.
– Learning Django
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Nothing yet. Haven’t been working too much after the code sprint, will definitely make a difference next week.
Any other questions
Nope, everything is fine.

Justin Maillet

What project are you working on?
I’m working on the “Sandboxing Extensions” project.
What you accomplished this week
I got my easy bug fix submitted, reviewed, and committed.
 My Hackpad has been created and updated.
Finally, I’ve been writing tests for the sandboxing project.
Links to anything you’ve done this week
What you plan to do next week?
Next week, I plan to learn even more python, and get about three pieces of the sandboxing project done.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Nothing is blocking my progress.
Any other questions?
I’ve got a few questions about the Google Summer of Code, but I can ask those after the meeting.

Mark Loyzer

What project are you working on?
I am currently working on adding an extension to Review Board that will allow people to export a Review as PDF or CSV.
What you accomplished this week
Fixed and submitted my easyfix bug: Prevent users from publishing empty (no modifications made) review request drafts (@ https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6322/)
Picked out my first project: “Export review data”
I had to do some reading on extending Review Board at https://www.reviewboard.org/docs/manual/dev/extending and ran into some problems with the documentation but figured it out through trial and error.
Did 3 code reviews.
Links to anything you’ve done this week
Bugs:
Project:
I haven’t submitted a WIP yet because it was mostly fixing some minor things with boiler plate code.  I will definitely have a WIP for next week.
What you plan to do next week.
– Keep my Hackpad up to date (I forgot to at the Sprint so I had to go back and try to recollect everything I had done and such).
– Figure out how request/response works with extensions so I can then start looking into how to aggregate all the data associated with a review.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
I was stuck with getting the extension up and running for a couple of reasons but the biggest one was I didn’t know how to ‘enable’ the extension.  I thought that once you installed it (ran the setup.py file) it would automatically be loaded into the application.  I figured out that you needed to login as an admin and enable the extension through the Administration UI.
Any other questions
Not at the moment.

Azad Salahli

What project are you working on?
I’m working on “Update ‘rbt post’ to use the “Validate Diff” API resource”. My estimation of project completion is 2-3 weeks.
What you accomplished this week
I have fixed EasyFix bug number 3438 (https://code.google.com/p/reviewboard/issues/detail?id=3438). I also did a minor change to Getting Started guide, and did a minor refactoring in RBTools codebase.
Links to anything you’ve done this week
What you plan to do next week.
My goal this week is to work on ReviewBoard API to create new flag to avoid validating the diff on upload if it is already validated,
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Nothing as of now.
Any other questions
No question so far.
Azad,

My goal this week is to work on ReviewBoard API to create new flag to avoid validating the diff on upload if it is already validated,

I wouldn’t spend any time on this. Either way we’ll have to re-parse the diff, and the file existence state is cached. No matter what, it’s best to get things working correctly before thinking much about performance–if it turns out that it feels slow, then we can investigate how to make it faster.

– Reply from David Trowbridge

Barret Rennie

Currently I just finished exclude pattern support for perforce. This was the last SCMClient (besides ClearCase and Plastic) that did not support it. I will be moving on to adding incremental diff support in code reviews.

Since the last status report (including the code sprint), I’ve done:
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6317/ (-X flag)
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6331/ (hg -X support)
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6339/ (git -X support)
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6345/ (svn -X support)
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6350/ (fix git -X bug)
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6357/ (refactor svn’s _filter_diff)
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6349/ (bzr -X support)
https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6376/ (p4 -X support)

In the upcoming week I plan to first get the UI addition for the incremental diff addition, then dig into the RB api to see if I’ll have to add new API features to accomplish this.

Leave a Reply

