Status Reports: Oct 4, 2014

Questions:

What project are you working on?
What you accomplished this week?
Links to anything you’ve done this week
What you plan to do next week
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Any other questions?

Nicole Xin

What project are you working on?

Same as last week.

I’m currently working on “General comments(with issues)”. Reviewboard now support comments on diffs, file attachments and screenshots, but there is no generic comment type that can open an issue tracking. So we would like to add that.

What you accomplished this week

I already set up the backend comment model. It’s posted and not a WIP, so welcome to review it! I’m started working on web-api also. But I don’t want to post a WIP since it looks messy now. I’ll post it after I’m done.

Links to anything you’ve done this week

Project: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6375/

What you plan to do next week.

Keep working on my project, and hopefully finish web-api next week. I am having 3 midterms and a G2 Road Test next week. So… wish me luck!!

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

Nothing at the moment.

Any other questions

All good for now.

Andrew Hong

What project are you working on?

Same project as last week: https://reviewboard.hackpad.com/bWzTgtBtq9f#:h=Add-a-

What you accomplished this week?

Implemented bulk of the feature which seems to be working great so far.

Links to anything you’ve done this week

https://reviewboard.hackpad.com/Andrew-Hongs-Development-Log-cXtoZbAyag7#:h=Download-All-File-Attachments-

What you plan to do next week?

I have a few things left to do on this feature, like adding a button and making it work on attachments not stored locally on the server.

Post it up for review (hopefully today/tomorrow) and make adjustments as necessary.

Start looking into another project?

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

I’m talking to myself on IRC, but answering my own questions in the process 🙂

Any other questions?

Nope!

Barret Rennie

What project are you working on?

1. Excluded files support

2. Expanding the diff fragments in review comments

What you accomplished this week?

This week I’ve worked on a few things. I finished up exclude files support for Perforce, adding in support for excluding files based on depot patterns as well as relative paths[1]. I’ve also modified the exclude files support for Bazaar, CVS, Git, Mercurial, and SVN to interpret patterns as relative to the current working directory[2]. While working on [2] I noticed that `rbt diff` for SVN and CVS `SCMClients` generate their diffs only for the current working directory and its subdirectories, so I updated their `diff` methods to move to the root directory of the repository before running the diff and then move back to the original working directory [3].

Finally, I’ve started working on expanding the diff fragments in review comments. I’ve modified the API endpoint for genereting diff fragments to take an extra parameter, `lines-of-context`, which indicates how many lines above and below the fragment it should include in the response. The generated response also contains links for expanding the relevant diff fragments. My WIP is available at [4].

Links to anything you’ve done this week

[1]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6376/

[2]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6383/

[3]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6388/

[4]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6380/

[5]: https://code.google.com/p/reviewboard/issues/detail?id=3565

What you plan to do next week?

During the next week I want to get the UI for [4] to look and function like the diffviewer UI (i.e., expanding up/down to previous/next function definition, expanding the whole file, etc.). I also want to fix issue 3565[5] to generate a better error message (or possibly behave properly) now that I’m more familiar with how `rbtools` works. While working on these, I will start looking for another project to take over after I am finished.

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

I’m moving forward and nothing is blocking my progress.

Any other questions?

No new questions so far.

David Kus

What project are you working on?

The same project as last week. Drag ‘n Drop Inline Images

What you accomplished this week?

Nearly finished the web API for user file attachments. The file attachment resources can be created / updated / deleted, though I do have a few questions around permissions (see below).

Links to anything you’ve done this week.

Review Request [WIP]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6351/

Dev Log: https://reviewboard.hackpad.com/dkus-Development-Log-LpIrKtA6wfI

What you plan to do next week?

Finish up the API, try to write some tests for it, and also start working on the view that will redirect to file attachment’s URL given the file attachment ID.

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

Nothing that is completely blocking me, though I do have a few questions (technical / design related):

1) In the project description, it recommends sub-classing BaseFileAttachmentResource. This resource is pretty heavily dependent on the file attachment being associated with a review request, which is not the case for user file attachments. Does it make more sense to just sub-class WebAPIResource instead?

2) What should be the requirements for users to view / create / update / delete these file attachment resources? Right now, I have that:

 – Creating: user just needs to be authenticated.

 – Updating / Deleting: user needs to be the ‘owner’ of the resource.

 – Viewing: nothing right now

3) When deleting a file attachment resource from the database, should the actual file be deleted as well?

4) When testing the web API for creating the file attachment resource: After making a request with Basic Auth, and then removing the auth headers and making another request, the ‘request.user’ is still set to the last user that I made a request with, and so request.user.is_authorized() returns true even though I’m not providing any auth headers with the request. Is this supposed to be happening? Seems a little strange.

Any other questions?

No other questions.

Ryan Done:

What project are you working on?

Same as last week, the alphabetic paginator for the users list.

What you accomplished this week?

Created a hackpad and wrote about how the paginator works.

Fixed an few bugs in my changes, re factored some of my code

Did a pretty thorough verification test of the paginator changes. (Made sure that any other child classes of the djblets’ datagrid are not impacted)

Currently adding a “non-alphabetic character” button to the paginator. Should be done by Sunday.

Links to anything you’ve done this week

https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6369/

https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6368/

https://reviewboard.hackpad.com/rdone-development-log-LK0GSpfQxxN

What you plan to do next week?

Put any last finishing touches on the paginator if I haven’t already.

Start with users list “search” box.

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

All good for now.

Any other questions?

Once we wrap up (or are close to wrapping up) a project, do we just go and take another off the list? Should we still make an effort to take on bug fixes from the issue list?

Mark Loyzer

What project are you working on?

Same as last week – I am currently working on adding an extension to Review Board that will allow people to export a review request as PDF or CSV.

What you accomplished this week

I submitted a WIP review request for my project (link below).

I finished implementing all the hooks necessary to get the dropdown menu in place along with its list items.

I started implementing the backend (generating a file representative of the review request and sending it to the user).  I was able to send a file already stored on disk and started looking into dynamically generating files when I talked to m_conley regarding potential layouts and contents of the document and he said that it would be a good idea to create a mock document in to get some reviews regarding that.  Secondly, my questions also concerned which python packages could be used (because I don’t want to add dependencies if I don’t need to and I want to make sure everything is fine on the licensing side as well).  So, in summary I am still in the process of creating this (PDF) file.  I have come up with a rough draft and am converting it to an electronic file and will be done this weekend.

Did a couple code reviews.

Links to anything you’ve done this week

Project:

Hackpad

https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6393/

What you plan to do next week.

Get a sample PDF template file to work from in creating one dynamically with python (and a package).

May end up doing CSV files first because I think that would be easier.

Both of these tasks involve confirming which information should be present in the files…so this will be my priority.

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

None

Any other questions

For testing, how do I add changes/diffs to Review Board on my localhost?  I will want to make sure the change sets and any comments referencing the code is tested.

Justin Maillet

What project are you working on?

I’m still working on sandboxing extensions.

What you accomplished this week?

I’ve got tests running, however it’s still a work in progress.

Links to anything you’ve done this week

[WIP] patch: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6399/

What you plan to do next week?

I plan to do some deep-diving into django hooks and backends, and Reviewboard’s hooks and backends.

After that I will finish writing the tests, and actually start sandbox extensions if I have the time.

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

My limited knowledge of how the authBackend and hooks work is blocking me from making tests that initially fail and succeed after sandboxing.

Any other questions?

Can someone show me some code of a Reviewboard extension using hooks or point me in  the direction of a cleanly written one?

Azad Salahli

What project are you working on?

Same as last week, I’m working on “Update ‘rbt post’ to use the “Validate Diff” API resource”

What you accomplished this week?

I’ve changed ‘rbt post’ command to make a Validate Diff API request before creating or updating the review request. As of now, “rbt post” terminates if the diff doesn’t pass validation and leaves the actual review request unmodified.

Links to anything you’ve done this week

I haven’t posted a review yet.

What you plan to do next week?

In the meeting, I want to make sure I’m on the right track, and maybe correct my mistakes afterwards by the end of Sunday. What I will do next week will depend on the meeting tomorrow.

What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?

Not enough knowledge about diffs and how they work. I cannot experiment with different diff files because of this. Basically what I want to do is, upload different kinds of diff files to see how the system behaves with and without Diff Validation.

Any other questions?

Not any specific questions, but I’m looking forward to the meeting to get some help.

Leave a Reply

