Status Reports – Oct. 11, 2014

Justin Maillet

Here is my status report:
What project are you working on?
I’m still working on sandboxing extensions.
What you accomplished this week?
I’ve finally gotten the hang of searching through the code and have started taking more notes, and I’ve almost got my unit test running.
Links to anything you’ve done this week.
What you plan to do next week?
This week I plan to really put some work in and see if I can get more than three extensions sandboxed.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Nothing is blocking my progress.
Any other questions?
No further questions.

Barret Rennie

 What project are you working on?
What you accomplished this week?
This week I’ve worked on a few things. I’ve finished up the first
draft for comment diff fragment expansions; it has moved out of WIP
and is ready for review[1]. I’ve also submitted a fix for bug
3565[2] — it just improves the error message to indicate the
underlying error[3]. I’ve also added a feature for reviewboard users
to opt out of receiving notifications of their own activity[4].Most of the work requried for [1] was getting the UI correct and the
tempaltes to generate correctly. It also required adding some Django
templatetags (to make the code neater).What you plan to do next week?This next week I plan on working on the student project idea: “Add
support for aliases to RBTools.” I want to make it behave as closely
as possible to git aliases, while remainning portable. I believe the
majority fo the parsing can be done with shlex and rbtools can
either call out to (ba)sh/cmd (depending on OS) with the arguments
or handle calls to subprocess.popen and the like itself.Any other questions?No questions thus far.Links to anything you’ve done this week.[1]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6380/
[2]: https://code.google.com/p/reviewboard/issues/detail?id=3565
[3]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6428/
[4]: https://reviews.reviewboard.org/r/6429/

Ryan Done

What project are you working on?
Alphabet paginator. Almost done
 
What you accomplished this week?
Added a selector for non-alphabetic names (0-9 _-.) and did error handling on incorrect URL arguments
Updated the unit tests for user list to verify the alphabetic query behaviour.
Adjusted the paginator template so that the letter options always display, whereas before they would not display if the queryset is less than the size of a page (this was the original behaviour of the numeric paginator)
Links to anything you’ve done this week
 
What you plan to do next week?
Address any code changes from outstanding reviews
Get started on the live search feature or some other project
 
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
I had some issues with CRLF in windows that was breaking my unit tests. I believe I got that all worked out but I’m still getting some unit tests that throw errors for review board.
The tests output is here: http://pastebin.com/Ky2CrYBe if anyone wants to take a look.
 
Any other questions?
Nope

Andrew Hong

What project are you working on?
Download File Attachments as .zipWhat you accomplished this week?

– Came up with approach to pulling the files locally when attachments are hosted externally — see development log
– Got free 1 year Amazon AWS set up (Thanks Barrett!) 

– Found a bug where Storage settings in the administrator panel doesn’t save the chosen storage option or your credentials so I need to fix this before I can proceed with testing project feature with Amazon AWS.

– Narrowing down the problem, found out that the save function is never called on the form. Still investigating as to why that is; hopefully a quick fix.

Links to anything you’ve done this week

https://reviewboard.hackpad.com/Andrew-Hongs-Development-Log-cXtoZbAyag7

What you plan to do next week?
Hopefully fix the bug and move back to finishing project.


What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
The bug mentioned above… 😦

Any other questions?
Nope, none at the moment.

David Kus

What project are you working on?
Drag ‘n Drop Images into Markdown Editor
What you accomplished this week?
– Added LocalSite relation to FileAttachment, and only allowing users to access the resource if they have access to the assoicated LocalSite
– Refactored BaseFileAttachmentResource to contain only fields / functionality common to both User file attachments and Review Request file attachments. Moved the Review Request specific logic into a new class, BaseReviewRequestFileAttachmentResource.
Links to anything you’ve done this week.
What you plan to do this week?
Try to finish up the backend stuff.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
– How do I check if a user is a superuser?

Yanjia Xin

What project are you working on?
Same as last week, I’m working on general comments web-api.
 
What you accomplished this week?
1. Web-api build complete
2. Tests created (Testing next week)
3. Experiment with git rebase between branches
 
Links to anything you’ve done this week
What you plan to do next week?
Test on previously built models and web-api, start UI and design and build front-end js.
 
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Currently my dev server can be run as usual, but when i click on a review request, it gives error “no such table: reviews_review_general_comments”
So I try to update the database using syncdb, but I’m receiving an error says:
”  File “/src/reviewboard/reviewboard/urls.py”, line 10, in <module>
    from reviewboard.extensions.base import get_extension_manager 
I can’t figure out why.
 
Any other questions?
Nope.

Azad Salahli

1. What project are you working on?
Same as last week: “Update ‘rbt post’ to use the “Validate Diff” API resource”.
 
2. What you accomplished this week?
Fixed issues opened by David And Steven. Tested my changes with Mercurial.
 
3. Links to anything you’ve done this week
 
4. What you plan to do next week?
Testing this with Subversion and possibly finalizing the project.
 
5. What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?H
I’m having trouble with installing `subvertpy` python module. This is the error&traceback I get: http://pastie.org/private/2bbmbyr4gs9wbzdxqovla
I’m running Ubuntu 12.04. I executed:
    $ sudo apt-get install subversion libapr1 libapr1-dev libsvn1
    $ pip install subvertpy
and got the error mentioned in the link above.
 
6. Any other questions?
How should I fix [5] ?

Mark Loyer

What project are you working on?
Adding an extension to Review Board that will allow people to export a review request as PDF or CSV.
 
What you accomplished this week?
I created two mock documents (CSV and PDF) and uploaded them for review.  I’ve had some feedback from m_conley and I added a spreadsheet file to illustrate the complications with creating a CSV file.  During the time the files were being reviewed I made some mall changes to my current code and updated my review request with them.  Then I started implementing the function for CSV file generation until m_conley submitted a review for it in which case I started creating the spreadsheets.
I’m not really sure what content is required because I don’t see an easy way to generate a CSV file that conforms to the CSV structure.
I created the spreadsheet in my google drive and when I saved it to my computer to upload to reviewboard the folder it was saved in was the same as my reviewboard development environment and overwrote the directory (I believe this was the reason but not 100% sure).
The only good thing about this is that I didn’t have too many uncommitted changes.
Links to anything you’ve done this week.
What you plan to do next week?
I would really like to get these documents finalized so I can begin programming with a better idea of what is to be done.  At least for the CSV file.  I have to make some changes to the PDF file which I will do early next week as well.
What, if anything, is blocking you from making progress?
Not knowing which content is to be inputted into the CSV file.
Need to re-set up my development environment now and am running across the issue:

An error occurred while executing `vmrun`, a utility for controlling

VMware machines. The command and output are below:

Command: [“start”, “/Users/Markintosh/Documents/Projects/reviewboard/rb-vm-dev/.vagrant/machines/default/vmware_fusion/2d702f8a-8138-45b2-80f1-dc2b8561b176/precise64.vmx”, “nogui”, {:notify=>[:stdout, :stderr]}]

Stdout: 2014-10-11T18:41:22.432| ServiceImpl_Opener: PID 25343

Error: The operation was canceled

Stderr:

during the “vagrant up –provider vmware_fusion” command.

Any other questions?
1) How do I resolve the above error?
2) I think I have indirectly stated it, but I am still unsure of what the CSV file should contain…this is in large part because of the complex and hierarchical structure of reviews (with associated comments and issues) needs to be mapped to a one-dimensional space within a CSV file.
3) Secondly, what is the difference between a review’s body_top, body_bottom, and comments?  In order to add a ‘body_top’ I had to click the ‘add comment’ link which I assumed would generate and save the contents as a comment…but it was apparently the review’s body_top.  So, in short, what is the difference between these?
Leave a Reply

